With the help of a committee of experts from Dresden Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Dresden Chamber of Trade and the German Trade Union Confederation (DGB), among others, companies, players in the public sector and the State of Saxony support people who work in Dresden, or intend to move there to work. This support goes well beyond advice and information: all kinds of cooperative ventures and projects are promoted for companies and skilled workers. The skilled labour alliance always has an open ear for every enquiry, passing people on to the relevant service.

What does Dresden offer employees?

Dresden offers employees all kinds of opportunities. The business world and sciences are flourishing, and companies are always on the lookout for skilled workers. Though Dresden has the highest number of people in employment since German reunification, it is still not enough. Education providers from primary schools to universities are working, along with Dresden’s research institutions, to train much-needed new workers for Dresden’s companies and attract them as potential employees.

The City of Dresden’s website provides young trainees, new city residents and other interested visitors with all the information they need to find a home, live and work in Dresden – from childcare, schools and leisure activities to a job portal.

What does Dresden offer employers?

Within the framework of the Skilled Labour Directive issued by the Saxon State Ministry for Economic Affairs, Labour and Transport, the City of Dresden’s skilled labour alliance develops action plans for securing skilled workers and evaluates funding applications by project organisers in this field.

The aim is to present Dresden’s companies throughout the region, Germany and the world as attractive employers with flexible working conditions, good pay and interesting jobs; to target potential skilled workers and retain them as employees in the long term.

Fortunately, this task is made much easier due to the fact that Dresden is one of the best and loveliest cities to live in in eastern Germany (or, as some even say, the whole world!).

What does Dresden offer in terms of schools and studying?

With its twelve institutes of higher education and universities of cooperative education, and more than 47,000 students in all, Dresden is a university city par excellence – in fact, TU Dresden has even been named a “University of Excellence”. This means that eastern Germany’s most important university city has huge innovative potential with its well-trained young professionals, who it is hoped will ideally stay in the region in the long term.

The skilled labour alliance supports the “intap” project, which is especially designed to retain international students in Dresden. Short for “international talent project”, this Dresden scheme aims to make local companies visible and attractive to international students, and vice versa.

Photo credits: Mediaserver Dresden, Tomy Heyduck, Jürgen Lösel

Gemeinsam mit einem Gremium aus Expert/-innen, Vertretern u.a. von Industrie- und Handelskammer Dresden, Handwerkskammer Dresden und Deutschem Gewerkschaftsbund engagieren sich Unternehmen, öffentliche Akteure und der Freistaat Sachsen für die Menschen, die in Dresden arbeiten oder zum Arbeiten herkommen wollen. Das Angebot geht über Beratung und Information weit hinaus. Für Unternehmen und Fachkräfte werden vielfältige Kooperationen angebahnt und Projekte gefördert. Jedes Anliegen trifft bei den Ansprechpartnern der Fachkräfteallianz auf offene Ohren und wird an die geeignete Stelle weitervermittelt.

Was bietet Dresden für Arbeitnehmer?

Dresden bietet für Arbeitnehmer vielfältige Chancen. Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft florieren, Unternehmen sind immer auf der Suche nach Fachkräften. Obwohl in Dresden seit der Wende noch nie so viele Menschen gearbeitet haben wie heute, genügt das noch lange nicht. Bildungseinrichtungen, von Grundschulen bis zur Universität, und Forschungseinrichtungen in Dresden engagieren sich, den dringend benötigten Nachwuchs für Dresdens Firmen auszubilden und als potentielle Arbeitnehmer zu gewinnen.

Auf der Webpräsenz der Stadt Dresden werden junge Menschen in Ausbildung gebracht sowie Neubürger und Interessierte mit allen nötigen Informationen zum Wohnen, Leben und Arbeiten in Dresden versorgt – von der Kinderbetreuung über Schulen und Freizeitmöglichkeiten. Ein Jobportal ist natürlich ebenfalls integriert.

Was bietet Dresden für Arbeitgeber?

Im Rahmen der Fachkräfterichtlinie des Sächsischen Staatsministeriums für Wirtschaft, Arbeit und Verkehr erarbeitet die Fachkräfteallianz der Stadt Dresden Handlungskonzepte zur Fachkräftesicherung und bewertet dementsprechende Förderanträge von Projektträgern.

Mit flexiblen Arbeitsbedingungen, guter Bezahlung und spannenden Tätigkeiten sollen Dresdner Unternehmen regional, deutschlandweit und international als attraktive Arbeitgeber präsentiert werden, gezielt Fachkräfte werben und diese langfristig als Arbeitnehmer an sich binden.

Dass Dresden eine der lebenswertesten und schönsten Städte der neuen Bundesländer (manche meinen gar: der ganzen Welt!) ist, macht diese Aufgabe zum Glück einfacher.

Was bietet Dresden für Schule und Studium?

Dresden ist mit seinen zwölf Hochschulen und Berufsakademien und insgesamt mehr als 47.000 Studierenden eine Universitätsstadt par excellence – die TU Dresden als größte Hochschule der Stadt trägt sogar das Prädikat „Exzellenz-Universität“. Der wichtigste Hochschulstandort Ostdeutschlands birgt damit ein großes innovatives Potenzial an gut ausgebildeten Young Professionals, und die sollen am besten langfristig in der Region bleiben.

Damit vor allem internationale Studierende in Dresden gehalten werden, unterstützt die Fachkräfteallianz das Projekt „intap“. Das „Internationale Talenteprojekt für Dresden“  soll lokale Unternehmen für ausländische Studierende und umgekehrt sichtbar und attraktiv machen.

Bildnachweis: Mediaserver Dresden, Tomy Heyduck, Jürgen Lösel